The RW Short Story Prize

Judge: Paul McVeigh

Paul McVeigh’s short stories have been read on BBC Radio 3, 4 & 5 and Hollow was shortlisted for Irish Short Story of the Year at the Irish Book Awards in 2017. He is associate director of Word Factory, the UK’s national organisation for excellence in the short story and is co-founder of the London Short Story Festival. His debut novel, The Good Son, won The Polari First Novel Prize and was shortlisted for many others including the Prix du Roman Cezam in France. Paul’s work has been translated into seven languages. This year Paul will judge The Edge Hill Short Story Prize and The Dylan Thomas Prize.


  • 1st Prize £400
  • 2nd Prize £250
  • 3rd Prize £150
  • Shortlisted £20
  • All winning and shortlisted stories published in the annual anthology

Entry Fees:

  • £10 for 1 story – enter as many times as you like but all entries must be made separately and the entry fee paid each time.

Deadline: 28th October 2018

Word Count: 1500 – 5000 (title not included)

Writing a winning story: The best way to discover what kind of stories impress the initial readers and the judges is to read them. Get copies of the winning stories in the 2016 and 2017 prizes below.

Buy Now







Buy Now








Competition Rules

  • Submit stories written in English through Submittable using the button below by 23.45 GMT on the deadline date (sorry late entries will not be included).
  • Do not include your name on the story document or submission title but provide a short bio in the body of the email. All entries are read anonymously so any submissions showing the author’s name will be disqualified.
  • Stories must be your own original work and not have been published online or in print, or have won any other competitions (longlisted and shortlisted places in other competitions is fine).
  • Simultaneous submissions are allowed but if your story wins a prize or is published prior to the winner’s announcement your entry will become ineligible and entry fees will not be refunded
  • By entering the competition you agree to your story being published in the winners’ anthology
  • Stories can be in any genre apart from children’s fiction and erotica.
  • You can enter as many times stories as you like but all entries must be made separately and the entry fee paid each time.
  • The judge’s decision is final.
  • There will be a launch event for the anthology of winners and cash prizes will be paid on publication of the anthology.
  • Cash prize payments will be made through PayPal only so you must have an account to receive your prize.
  • There is no alternative prize.



If you sign up as a Retreat West Author Member you’ll get entries to these competitions included in your benefits package, as well as whole load of other great stuff to get you writing, learning and submitting more.

Join our writing community