Comp results: May 16 Themed Flash

Sorry these are so late but June was a very busy month and July is proving to be the same!

Thanks to everyone that entered. The winning stories are…


Winner: Slime by Tamsin Macdonald

Loved the metaphor and imagery in this story and the brilliant use of language to really evoke the sliminess of the world.

The author: Tamsin Macdonald is a Manchester-based secondary school teacher by trade who is in the process of earning her writing stripes. Recently, she was a finalist in the Storgy short story competition and one of her short stories is published by World Weaver Press in an anthology of sirens-themed fiction. She writes at great length (novels) and short length (flash fiction, short stories, poetry) and enjoys performing at spoken word nights in Manchester.
Read It


Runner-Up: Milk Chocolate Bride by Christopher Stanley

Great descriptions and imagery and I could really picture everything the narrator was seeing and dreaming and also feel the cloying chocolate in my mouth.

The author: Christopher Stanley lives on a hill with three sons who share the same birthday but aren’t triplets. He writes to stay sane and has been mostly successful so far.

Read It

The Shortlist

  • Broken Pennies by Angela Dacre
  • Crown by Josie Turner
  • Dungeons by Andrew Wills
  • Easily Parted by Sally Davies
  • Milk Chocolate Bride by Christopher Stanley
  • My Tatelah by Annie Dawid
  • Slime by Tamsin Macdonald
  • Winter Sun by Clare Isla


The next Themed Flash Competition deadline is 31st July 2016 and the theme is Envy. Winner and runner-up stories get published on the website and there’s cash prizes too. Find out more here.

The annual RW Flash Fiction Prize has substantial cash prizes and the winning and shortlisted entries all get published in the annual anthology with innovative indie press, Urbane Publications.

This year’s judge is the esteemed flash writer, and novelist, David Gaffney. Read his tips on writing flash with an impact before you submit. The deadline for entries is 30th September 2016. Get more info here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *